Hongdae [홍대]

카페봉 | Cafe Bong

I first walked by this place last winter after I moved to the neighborhood and got lost went exploring. And since brunch is my favorite meal, any place that does brunch sets is worth checking out!It took me so long to actually try it out because I spent most of last winter as a hermit & then moved out of that house after a couple months. But today when my original brunch plans were thwarted, the stars aligned and I remembered Cafe Bong.

IMG_1777
The little dinosaur is their mascot/logo!

The cafe is on a corner in this regular residential neighborhood and definitely has that cozy neighborhood spot feel to it. There’s a little covered patio by the back door, but I picked a cold, rainy day to visit and nobody was choosing to sit outside.

IMG_1784
Front door
IMG_1788
Back door is further to the right

Even though there aren’t actually any individual/2-person tables, I was not the only lone diner here! There was a woman near me who brought a book and a couple business-looking guys were working on laptops, so while I wouldn’t mark this as a study spot, it is a nice casual place to hang out alone (or with a social gathering).

There is some English & photos on the menu, and a couple of the staff spoke some English to me and were overall just very nice! It’s a shame I didn’t start hanging out here while I lived nearby~

IMG_1783
Orange Juice

The brunch sets include juice, so I went with orange to really get into the brunch spirit. And because I still haven’t found a love for grapefruit juice…

IMG_1779
Pancake Brunch Set (B) ₩12,000

Pancakes are one of my top 5 favorite foods, and my tastebuds have scientifically proven that small pancakes taste the best.

IMG_1781
Look at all the different food groups here!

Confession: I am, at heart, a picky eater. Due to years of having to eat weird food in college & now in Korea, I have adapted. For example, I ate these sausages even though they had mustard on them and I ate half the banana because it was blocking the maple syrup.

Anyway, the pancakes were fantastic and the eggs were perfectly cooked! The other stuff was just like an added bonus. I’ve noticed that I eat way less salad here than I did back home, so I appreciate when a salad is a true salad and not just a handful of shredded cabbage.

Cafe Bong isn’t only for brunch; they have some other meal items as well as a dessert menu and a selection of wine & beer. And throughout the year they make various jams and preserves, which can be found for sale in the cafe. They frequently update their facebook with the latest happenings/homemade goodies/menu changes.

  • Hours: Tue-Fri 10am-11pm | Sat-Sun 11am-10pm
  • Location: 451-3 Seogyo-dong, Mapo-gu | 서울특별시 마포구 서교동 451-3
  • Contact: 02-3144-8745 | Website

Screen Shot 2016-09-02 at 12.07.32 AM.png

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.